APC’s ALAPALA ANTHONY EBITONMO wins state assembly seat, defeats PDP’s ASUPA FORTETA in Delta rerun

Sunday, February 4, 2024
 - The Delta State House of Assembly candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the Burutu State Constituency 1, Alapala Anthony Ebitonmo, has been declared the winner of the rerun election held on Saturday

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Asupa Forteta.

The Independent National Electoral Commission declared Alapala the winner of the poll, ahead of Forteta, in the rerun election held in Ayakoromor Unit 8, Oboro Unit 9, Enekorogha Unit 26, and Edegbene Unit 27.

According to the INEC scorecard, Alapala beat Asupa, winning all units and scoring more than 50 per cent of the votes cast.

The result showed that out of a total of 15,381 votes cast, 14,809 were declared valid, with Alapala polling 7,728 votes ahead of Asupa, who scored 6,616 votes, while 578 were voided.

Alapala was subsequently presented with his certificate of return by the returning officer, Prof. Arnold.

Meanwhile, the Senator representing Delta South Senatorial District under the APC platform at the National Assembly, Senator Joel-Thomas Onowakpo, has congratulated Hon. Anthony Ebitonmo Alapala for emerging as the winner of the February 3, 2024, Delta State House of Assembly rerun election for Burutu State Constituency I.

Onowakpo, in a press release on his X handle on Sunday, commended the electorate in Burutu Local Government Area “for their participation in the electoral process,” affirming the resilience of democratic institutions and the power of the people in shaping the state’s political landscape.

He said the outcome of the election reflects the wishes of the people, emphasising that democracy thrives when voters reward competence, transparency, and good governance.

He also expressed gratitude to INEC for working assiduously to create a level playing field for all contestants and to the nation’s security agencies for maintaining law and order during the highly anticipated off-season elections.

The statement partly reads, “I extend my sincere congratulations to Hon. Anthony Ebitonmo Alapala of the APC on his decisive victory over PDP candidate Hon. Asupa Forteta in the rerun election for Delta State House of Assembly, Burutu Constituency 1.

“Today, the people of Burutu Constituency 1 reaffirmed their trust in Alapala and the APC, exemplifying democracy in action.

“This victory reflects the genuine will of the constituents and reaffirms Alapala’s commitment to serving them.

“To the resilient people of Burutu Constituency 1, your unwavering courage and steadfast commitment to democracy have not gone unnoticed. By defending your democratic rights with unparalleled zeal, you have sent a resounding message to political forces far and wide that the will of the people shall always prevail.

Post a Comment